Haverford College Libraries Quaker and Special Collections
All things Quaker on a quiet Main Line campus
More than three centuries of Quaker influence in American education, politics and society is explored and documented at Haverford. The college’s Quaker and Special Collections are housed far from the constant hum of Montgomery Avenue on the second tier of the Magill Library. At the Quaker Collection, which embraces the collections of the Friends Historical Association, one can encounter Quaker history, conduct genealogical research or choose to explore American secular life.
Haverford’s library boasts two copies of the John James Audubon’s elephant folio printing of The Quadrupeds of North America and has unparalleled holdings documenting the rich and varied story of American Cricket, which is still played (and enjoyed) at Haverford in traditional white uniforms.
Ever since the Quaker founders of Haverford College set to work here in 1833, the library has grown into a dedicated repository for exceptional collections. In addition to materials that are just simply rare (Benjamin Franklin’s classic printing of Cicero’s Cato Major) Haverford’s Quaker Collection manages the office of the Friends Historical Association.
Readers need photo identification. Researchers should contact special collections staff before coming to use the collections.
Haverford College’s 216-acre campus, home to buildings spanning 150 years of architecture, was landscaped by English gardener William Carvill. The nature walk introduces many of the 400 species of trees and shrubs.